adsl lan problem

nnCron and nnCron LITE discussion

adsl lan problem

Postby mantra » Thu, 07 Apr 2005, 17:00

Hi
i would like to run some programs when i'm online
some time ago i had a dial up connection

now
i have a marvell lan card and a d-link300T ethernet modem!

but often my modem is not connected to telephone line , and nncron start some programs even i'm not online

how can i let nncron start programs only when my modem is connected to the line , and i'm oline?
mantra
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue, 08 Mar 2005, 18:48

Postby VK » Thu, 07 Apr 2005, 17:17

please, show us the the nnCron task that starts the programs...
CU
VK
User avatar
VK
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Wed, 14 Jul 2004, 19:17

Postby mantra » Thu, 07 Apr 2005, 20:06

i use this
Code: Select all
WatchConnect
Action:
StartIn: "C:\Programmi\Agnitum\Outpost Firewall"
ShowMinimized   NormalPriority
START-APP: C:\Programmi\Agnitum\Outpost Firewall\outpost.exe


maybe i would like that nncron pings to a link and if really the internet connection is enstabilished runs my programs


i would like that nncron run every time i'm in the net ,outpost and then maybe shout down outpost
mantra
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue, 08 Mar 2005, 18:48

Postby VK » Fri, 08 Apr 2005, 09:47

As far as I know, every modem connection has a name. So, why do't you use the 'ONLINE: "connection"' word?

Like this:
Code: Select all
WatchConnect
Rule: ONLINE: "connection_name"
Action:
\ ...
CU
VK
User avatar
VK
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Wed, 14 Jul 2004, 19:17

Postby mantra » Fri, 08 Apr 2005, 11:05

but now i have a lan connection !
but sometime the modem is not pluged to the telephone line!

so i would like that nncron pings every 5 seconds to for example google and run some programs



Code: Select all
5000 TO PING-TIMEOUT
Rule: HOST-EXIST: "www.nncron.ru"
Action:
    START-APP: my_app.exe


something like this , but with this script nncron run (outpost , miranda and so on ,many times)

i want that nncron run these programs 1 time when i'm online, maybe when i'm offline terminate these process

and if i return online restart these program
mantra
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue, 08 Mar 2005, 18:48

Postby VK » Fri, 08 Apr 2005, 11:21

Just check the existance of the process before starting the new instance:

Code: Select all
Rule: HOST-EXIST: "www.nncron.ru" PROC-EXIST: "my_app.exe" 0= AND
Action:
    START-APP: my_app.exe


There is anothe way: you can create a flag-file when you are online and start/close programs depending of existance of this flag:

Code: Select all
Rule: HOST-EXIST: "www.nncron.ru" FILE-EXIST: "c:\online.sem" 0= AND
Action:
CREATE-FILE: "c:\online.sem"

(Do not forget to delete the file when you go offline!)
CU
VK
User avatar
VK
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Wed, 14 Jul 2004, 19:17

Postby mantra » Sun, 10 Apr 2005, 18:04

Code: Select all
5000 TO PING-TIMEOUT
Rule: HOST-EXIST: "www.nncron.ru"
Action:
    START-APP: my_app.exe


this gives me problems , i can't keep connection!
mantra
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue, 08 Mar 2005, 18:48

Postby VK » Mon, 11 Apr 2005, 09:50

Excuse me, I don't really understand what does it means 'can't keep connection' and how this is related to HOST-EXIST...
CU
VK
User avatar
VK
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Wed, 14 Jul 2004, 19:17

Postby mantra » Mon, 11 Apr 2005, 10:34

ok i set every 1 minute
Code: Select all
5000 TO PING-TIMEOUT
Rule: HOST-EXIST: "www.nncron.ru"
Action:
    START-APP: my_app.exe


if i use this script ,my lan connection can keep adsl signal , my pc tried to to acquire net address or disable my lan connection
only if i run this script

look the pic http://rapidshare.de/files/1218536/2.jpg.html
mantra
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue, 08 Mar 2005, 18:48

Postby VK » Mon, 11 Apr 2005, 10:43

HOST-EXIST does not disable any connection. It just 'pings' the specified host with the specified timeout. So - this line has nothing to do with disabling your lan connection. Maybe the connection is disabled by the program which is started in START-APP line?
CU
VK
User avatar
VK
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Wed, 14 Jul 2004, 19:17

Postby mantra » Mon, 11 Apr 2005, 10:45

VK (far_away) wrote:HOST-EXIST does not disable any connection. It just 'pings' the specified host with the specified timeout. So - this line has nothing to do with disabling your lan connection. Maybe the connection is disabled by the program which is started in START-APP line?


i tried to disable every programs and keep only nncron , but i have this problem
mantra
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue, 08 Mar 2005, 18:48

Postby VK » Mon, 11 Apr 2005, 11:04

There is a chance that you have a task in your nncron.tab which is terminating your lan connection (for example, by starting a special program) but this is not related to HOST-EXIST.
CU
VK
User avatar
VK
 
Posts: 680
Joined: Wed, 14 Jul 2004, 19:17

Postby mantra » Wed, 13 Apr 2005, 14:47

:cry: :cry: :cry:

yeah right !!!! u are right solved problem
mantra
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue, 08 Mar 2005, 18:48


Return to nnCron forum (English)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest