Running nncron.exe from a background task...

nnCron and nnCron LITE discussion

Running nncron.exe from a background task...

Postby jancla » Sat, 03 Jan 2009, 20:58

...in my case, from att Perl cgi script is not possible. nncron.exe just hangs and must be killed.

I want to start a task, so I want to run 'nncron -run taskname' from the cgi script. It works fine from the commandline and other .exe files executes just fine. I'm using Apache 2.x and nncron 1.91. (Apache is running from an admin account.)

I have no clue on what's happening (or not happening). -debug doesn't write anything in the *.out file. My guess is that it has something to do with the absence of a console window.

Any idéas anyone?


jan
jancla
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri, 05 Sep 2008, 22:11

Re: Running nncron.exe from a background task...

Postby jancla » Mon, 05 Jan 2009, 01:08

OK, I found another way to it.

By using the remote.spf plugin. Now I just open a socket and send a command to nncron through it. This works fine from within a cgi script and is very fast to.
jancla
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri, 05 Sep 2008, 22:11

Re: Running nncron.exe from a background task...

Postby Nicholas_Nemtsev » Tue, 10 Feb 2009, 09:42

I think, "nncron -run taskname" does not work for different windows station of nnCron service (user SYSTEM) and apache service (Admin). Also you can run scripts by "nncron -runfile script_name.spf". But your solution (by remote.spf) is fastest.
Nicholas Nemtsev
User avatar
Nicholas_Nemtsev
Site Admin
 
Posts: 857
Joined: Thu, 01 Jul 2004, 22:25
Location: Псков


Return to nnCron forum (English)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests