NNCron on X64 system

nnCron and nnCron LITE discussion

NNCron on X64 system

Postby WBeulink » Thu, 18 Dec 2008, 10:24

Latest version of NNCron will install on X64 systems without any problem, but ;-( won't run.
That is: it will run, but is unusable.
Thats a pitty!
Is there anything plannend for X64 support?
Or do we have a workaround?

Cheers,

Willem
WBeulink
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu, 07 Feb 2008, 00:07

Re: NNCron on X64 system

Postby byte.speed » Sun, 18 Jan 2009, 07:06

It seems to working on my Vista X64 system, but I can't change it.

nnCron lite runs and starts the requested commands, but ignores changes to cron.tab, and instead follows commands as written in cron.tab the first time it was run. I think it must have an old version of cron.tab stashed somewhere I can't find.

Is this what you saw?

Thanks
Last edited by byte.speed on Sun, 18 Jan 2009, 19:48, edited 1 time in total.
byte.speed
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun, 18 Jan 2009, 06:57

Re: NNCron on X64 system

Postby byte.speed » Sun, 18 Jan 2009, 19:45

OK - I got nncron lite v.1.17 running on Vista 64 bit Home Premium.

I am not sure why the following procedure worked, but from recent experience, I strongly suspect it has something to do with Vista security. Here is what I did to get it to work, I can't say this is the way to do it or that it will work for you. Maybe someone who knows Vista better can comment.

  • Shutdown and remove the cron service using the sc command from a cmd box with administrator privelege.
  • Moved the entire cron directory from its default location - C:\Program Files (x86)\ to D:\cron\.
  • Reinstall the cron service from its new location, again using sc.exe with administrator priveleges, as above.

If I get a chance, I will experiment with this and report back.[*]
byte.speed
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun, 18 Jan 2009, 06:57

Re: NNCron on X64 system

Postby 1eyedB&IT » Thu, 06 Jan 2011, 22:54

I love this byte...worked for several months getting Windows7 set up on new box including nncron lite. I followed your instructions and am pleased to report success on installing and running a small .bat script. :D

My problem now is that I can not get a perl script to run even though it runs fine with the same command from the command line. The log says it runs, returning a zero but the result is not valid. :cry:

System: Windows 7 on Dell Duo core System 32 with 2.93 GHz processors
RAM: 4G
1eyedB&IT
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu, 06 Jan 2011, 22:46

Re: NNCron on X64 system

Postby gavind » Sat, 12 Jan 2013, 20:34

Sorry to bump this old thread but is this compatible with Windows 8 already?
gavind
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat, 08 Dec 2012, 23:11

Re: NNCron on X64 system

Postby Angelina44 » Fri, 23 Aug 2013, 14:54

I didn't get fine working on Windows8.. So any way to explain this.
Or way to reinstall?
Angelina44
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri, 23 Aug 2013, 14:41

Re: NNCron on X64 system

Postby VoidVolker » Fri, 23 Aug 2013, 22:10

nnCron works fine as application and/or portable mode at Windows 7 & 8. Use the latest beta: http://www.nncron.ru/download/nncron193b13.exe
95% вопросов уже обсуждались на форуме или ответы на них есть в мануале.        nnCron 1.93 b15.exe
Как правильно задавать вопросы.
User avatar
VoidVolker
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2898
Joined: Tue, 25 Apr 2006, 17:56


Return to nnCron forum (English)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest